“Comfort is your biggest trap and coming out of comfort zone your biggest challenge.” ― Manoj Arora

I’m not one for New Year’s resolutions. I believe we have 365 days a year to begin new things in our lives. A certain time of the year should not dictate our attitudes about doing new things. 

With that said, tonight I had a conversation that reminded me of my deceleration I made to myself earlier in the year. I was going to work on expanding my comfort zone.

For too long I was afraid of change and uncertainty.There have been many opportunities in my life I passed on because I was uncomfortable with the idea of it. 

One example I deeply regret was not studying abroad in college. This world is so big, so wonderful, and so full of adventure to just limit yourself within ninety miles of it. 

For those of you keeping score at home the earth is roughly 196,939,900 square miles. Just experiencing 90 miles of that is insane. 

So I decided if I had any opportunities to arise and there were no logical reasons for me not to go after them, I would. 

This is not limited to traveling. I would force myself to try new activities and social situations. Things that make me uncomfortable is my indicator. If I have a reaction of apprehensiveness I figure out why am I apprehensive and if I cannot find a good enough reason I just do it. 

So far this approach has worked immensely. I have a few opportunities coming up later this year that I am stoked about and completely anxious for as well. However, I have found that feeling of anxiousness goes away quickly. Once you make up your mind you are going to do something all that’s left is the excitement of doing it.  

 I would advise anyone that is on the fence about an opportunity to ask themselves on question. Is there a logical reason why I shouldn’t do it. If the answer is no then just go for it. 

I just wish I had figured that out a little earlier in life. I do not pretend to know for certain many things in life but I do know missing an opportunity for fear is stifling.  Its gut wrenching. It hinders personal development.

That is one of the beauties of life though. We have the capacity to change until our last breath of air. 

This in itself is humbling. 

 

Leave a Reply

