“How come wrong numbers are never busy?” -Author Unknown

I recently read an article on Buzzfeed where the writer chronicled his life using the different cell phones he has owned over the years. I’ll link the article here: (http://www.buzzfeed.com/nathanwpyle/a-brief-life-history-as-told-by-my-phones#42p4vzc) I thought it was an interesting idea and so here is my version.

 

I received my first cellphone in the fall of 2004. That means I have had a cellular device for ten years. Here it is:

I was a freshman in high school. My parents bought me this phone but we agreed I would keep up the minutes with the part time job I had. This phone represents to me the hard work and responsibility I had to demonstrate to have the privilege of using it.  I am very appreciative for the lessons they taught me by making me responsible for something I wanted.

My next phone was much better. Or at the time I thought so. It was my very first camera phone and I thought I was the coolest kid ever. I wasn’t.

Actually, this thing was a trooper and I miss it. I had it from 2005-2007. Personally, I believe in keeping a phone until it no longer functions properly. My parents provided me with this phone once I started driving. It was more reliable and they kept up the bill because they could routinely make the payments without fail.

Then my senior year of high school started and I had to have a new phone. My two year itch started. I then got this:

This phone was yet the next step in technological advancements. It PLAYED music. I could slip a SD card into it and play songs. So my parents upgraded me and I was very happy. This phone is a trooper. To this day my grandfather still uses it and loves it. He can use it as long as he wishes.

The love affair with this Samsung SGH-A707 didn’t last long. My senior year of college had started. It was the fall of 2008. Smartphones were just coming onto the scene. They were the new “it” thing. I of course had to have one. So I got this:

I must admit. I loved this phone. It was the first phone I didn’t have to delete texts. Unfortunately, I didn’t have a data package and wifi wasn’t available with it. However, that didn’t stop me from loving it. It served me well in my first year of college. I bought it off of eBay and payed for it myself.  It felt good being able to work for something and know it was all mine.

A year later I got another phone. I don’t remember why. I know I sold the blackberry to a friend’s boyfriend at the time and I got a new phone. It was this:

I remember two things about this phone. 1) It was the last upgrade my parents allowed me on their plan and 2) I really wanted an iPhone but wasn’t allowed one due to data fees. This was the compromise.  I loved “qwerty” keyboards and this was nice enough. I had it my junior year of college. Honestly, it wasn’t much technologically speaking but it did what I needed it to.

My Senior year of college is when I got my first taste of an iPhone. I paid cash for an iPhone 3Gs. I successfully convinced my parents I would paid for my own data package as well. I was head over heels with it:

This was when Apple was on the top of its game. I believe they faltered around the release of the iPhone 4/4S. I could email, buy music, use web browsing. I had it all. Unfortunately, my phone broke. I attempted to have it fixed and was unable to save it. So I had to get another phone. I got this:

It was a cheap solution and quick solution for not having a phone. It was my first Android and unfortunately, I judged all Androids based off of this model. That wasn’t fair to  the Android market. It was a go-phone and therefore would not have been as good as other Android models. I have since decided I would keep and open mind to Android products.

As with all phones, they break at one point or another. I dropped this phone in the parking lot outside of my work. It cracked the screen. I had to put tape over the screen as to not cut my face. It was dreadful. Not long after that I bought another phone. In fact, the current phone I use now:

I got an iPhone 4s. This phone has been a dream. I have owned it for over a year and a half. It is my favorite phone to date and has meant very much to me. This phone marked a new stage in my life. I became completely responsible for it. I paid the bill and bought it myself. It provided me with a sense of accomplishment. The WiFi and Bluetooth have since stopped working but even with that I am happy.  I have said it often before, I will use it until I absolutely cannot use it any longer. I have no desire to run out and buy the next best thing. I mean we are on an iPhone 6 and I still cannot be swayed to leave my iPhone 4s.

However, I’ll admit my next phone may not be an iPhone. Apple is no longer an innovator. The technology they just announced last month has been available to consumers for more than two years. Google is where it is at. I already use Google for most everything in my life; Gmail, Chrome, music, documents, and cloud technology. Why not keep my cellular phone in the family?

I thought this was an interesting way to chronicle the last ten years of my life. Each phone was important to me at different times; starting high school, getting a drivers license, graduating high school, starting and graduating college, and being self sufficient to pay my own cellular bill. Cell phones have become such an integral part of our lives. Different phones give me different memories of what was going on in my life. In a way its like how music can bring back certain memories. Each phone represents a different part in my life. Its nice to traipse down memory lane every once in awhile.

This in itself is humbling.

 

All photos are from Google Images.

Leave a Reply

