“If my generation is remembered for anything, it will be as the last one that remembers the world before the Internet.” -Levi Grossman

Millennial are often called lazy, selfish, and indifferent to other people’s problems. Almost all of the times you hear this its from an individual in an older generation complaining about the younger generation. Honestly, its a right of passage. I’m sure I’ll be doing it to the next generation. What ever strange name they are dubbed with.

However, I wanted to explore a few of the reason we are perceived as lazy, selfish, and indifferent.

What sparked my thoughts on this was a local radio show discussing the fact that fewer millennial are having children or at least are putting off having a family.

Frankly, I can only speak for myself. But yes, I am a twenty five year old male and I do not have a child. I’m actually quite proud of that fact.

I do not have children for a few reasons. I want to preference this with, I owe no one an explanation as to why I do not have children or possibly do not want children. Unfortunately we live in a world where if you choose not to procreate you are deemed as a monster that wishes to end the human race.

I know so many innocent children that simply do not have a chance in this world because of who their parents are. Its sad.

Any way, I have things I want to achieve in my life. I want to travel and earn an advanced degree. Those are huge commitments and having a child is a bigger one. Why would I want to attempt to juggle all of that? It would not be fair to that child. My parents had five year olds when they were my age. I cannot imagine myself with an infant much less a five year old. I see the struggles they wen through and the things they gave up. Granted, they chose that. Its what they wanted. There is nothing wrong with that but for me its not in the cards right now.

So, if these are the reasons millennial are not bearing children, and I think it is, then kudos. You’re doing it right. By that I mean there may never be a right time to have a child but there are certainly better times than others.

If you had children young great! I am not belittling what’s best for others. I just know what’s best for me.

As far as lazy, I’m at a loss.

Most of my cohorts are working part time jobs. They are working two jobs, only to live meagerly. We are coming out of a recession.  Folks that can retire are not retiring due to uncertain economic factors. The jobs that are available are being filled with folks who had their jobs and are now looking. They have more experience.  I worked a part time job for three years after college until I found a full time job. Believe me it wasn’t for a lack of trying. I was going on interview after interview. It was extremely disheartening. Every time I was told we’ve gone with someone with more experience. Also getting a job has always been dependent on who do you know.

Also, many point to the fact millennial and Gen X’ers play copious amounts of video games. I’ll liken that to the hobbies the older generations would participate in. Years ago after dinner men would go to the local pub and drink, or retire to the den and watch tv, or go to their shop. Pretty much all wasteful ways to spend your time if you ask me.

Finally, the world selfish is thrown around a lot when you mention millennial. I’ll give on that one a bit. But think about it. Firstly, I grew up in a world that taught me I am special. I have value. We were awarded for showing up and breathing. That’s sad. It’s something that was meant well but crippled our fragile egos. Thankfully, life has a way of beating it out of you.

We also now live in a world of total customization. Every single thing on the planet can be made tailored to me. A great example would be your cellphone. I have an iPhone. So do have a billion other people but with the customization of it, I can make my phone pretty much the only one like it. I no longer have to buy an album for one song. I can just download a single. I don’t have to watch commercials during TV. I don’t even have to watch my TV shows when they air. I can watch them when I want too.

If you think about it, it’s only natural to become selfish. It’s a natural progression simply because of how far we are advancing.

I’m not necessarily defending my generation. We do many things I don’t like or understand. However, instead of making blanket statements about an entire group of people, it may be best to explore why a generation is the way it is.

The former generations did raise it. I do hope we learn things from the prior generations. There is always more to learn and do.

This In Itself Is Humbling.

Leave a Reply

