““The most important kind of freedom is to be what you really are.” – Jim Morrison

I am a behavioral scientist. I am a student of psychology and love understanding people. I have spent many years learning how to better understand myself.  I mean what really makes me tick. Every trick I learned about studying people I applied to myself. I wanted to compile a few facts about my personality type. This is a more personal blog than I normally write but I thought it would be fun. $$

The most scientific test one can take to determine personality is Myers Brigg. It is the test most employers use to gauge candidates for employment. Here is a link to a test if you’re curious about your personality types (http://www.humanmetrics.com/cgi-win/jtypes2.asp). There are many combinations of personality types.

My personality type is ISFJ. ISFJ is an abbreviation for Introvert, Sensing, Feeling, & Judging.

  • Introversion (I): ISFJs are introverted and tend to be quiet and reserved.
  • Sensing (S): ISFJs prefer concrete information rather than abstract theories.
  • Feeling (F): ISFJs place a greater emphasis on personal considerations rather than objective information.
  • Judging (J): ISFJs are planners and tend to be very well-organized.

This is a snap shot of my personality type. When I read this I noticed a contradiction among those traits that I feel but couldn’t put into words. You see, I am an extreme type person. I either really love something or can’t stand it. I usually am never neutral about anything. I am a critical thinker that thrives on facts and data but can be an emotional sentimental wreck. I often feel like a hypocrite. I tend to divide people into extremes. So when I took the Myers Brigg I was excited to see my observations translated into a personality type and to boot about 14% of the population has my same personality (1).

The biggest contradiction is the “Sensing” and “Feeling” portion. I love facts and concrete information. It’s how I determine my decisions. I’m very calculated. However, I also am an emotional person. I think with my heart. I always think of others. It’s very confusing.

I am an introverted person. I tend to draw my energy from within and become very tired from too much social interaction. I find small talk an exhausting chore. I’m not good at it and avoid it at all cost. I tend to fare better in one on one conversation and like to talk about personal matters.

Judging is very appropriate. I plan and organize. I obsess over details. I execute my plans with precision.  I get excited when things go as I plan them.

I’ve compiled some research together to give a more in depth look at what being an ISFJ is like.

“The ISFJ personality type is quite unique, as many of their qualities defy the definition of their individual traits. Though possessing the Feeling (F) trait, ISFJs have excellent analytical abilities; though Introverted (I), they have well-developed people skills and robust social relationships; and though they are a Judging (J) type, ISFJs are often receptive to change and new ideas.”(2)

“ISFJs need to know when to say no and stand up for themselves if they are to maintain their confidence and enthusiasm. Naturally social, an odd quality for Introverts, ISFJs utilize excellent memories not to retain data and trivia, but to remember people, and details about their lives.” (2)

“ISFJs enjoy structure and strive to maintain this order in all areas of their lives. While people with this personality type are introverted and tend to be quiet, they are keen observers and are focused on other people. Because they are so perceptive, ISFJs are good at remembering details about other people. Those with this personality type are particularly well-tuned in to the emotions and feelings of others.” (1)

Also, the most common career choices for ISFJs are Social Workers. I chose the Social Work profession long before I knew anything about being an ISFJ. It delighted me to find that I am almost meant for my career. It certainly validated my choice.

Finally, here are some famous ISFJ: Bruce Willis, Halle Berry, Kanye West, Kate Middleton Kim Kardashian, Rosa Parks, Prince Charles, Mitt Romney, Mother Teresa

It’s safe to say that I am in good hands. I’m in the company of Presidents, Royalty, Social Advocates, and Politicians.

I thought this would be a fun way to write about myself. I compiled some information about my personality type. Its scientific in nature. I rely on this information much more than zodiac signs. At times my need for organization and structure outweighs other needs in my life.  I value personal relationships at all times. I tend to analyze them too much. I want to feel a connection with people. I judge my relationship with people based on how much we share emotions. I prefer intimate conversations. I thrive in small groups. I’m loyal and take my responsibilities seriously.

Lastly, during my research, I found this very exciting. It is extremely true. I put a lot of value on my ability to gift give:

“When it comes to gift-giving, ISFJs have no equal, using their imagination and natural sensitivity to express their generosity in ways that touch the hearts of their recipients.” (2)

This In Itself Is Humbling

Leave a Reply

